And now for something completely different

Coffee is on vacation with the family and nowhere near a power saw. This is a diversion.

I am a city girl and have never been to a state or county fair until today. I grew up thinking 4H is only for rednecks. And I learned today that I was wrong!

First thing: “cheese curds” mean something very different in Texas than in Minnesota. Down here, they basically mean cheese sticks, the kind you get at Chili’s or some other generic chain of interchangeable food. Up there, they mean some sort of deep fat fried, hot, greasy, ooey goodness.

Real cheese curds!

Real cheese curds! Dripping from my hands into my singularly uncool mom bag.

Second: As I mentioned, 4H includes more than raising farm animals for competition that contains criteria that I am unable to comprehend. We had lunch in the 4H mess hall. I guess “hot dish” is a term up here that I didn’t grow up hearing. My husband has said that hot dishes were always a mess of ingredients that may have been all right by themselves.

Hot dish lunch

I guess this is a hot dish?

Growing up, 4H was regarded as an activity you did if your dad is a farmer and you milk cows. But apparently you also do it if you take pictures and build stuff – I’m down. There were several exhibits.
The woodworking exhibits:

4H wood table exhibit

This looks uncomfortably like my Pottery Barn knock-off table. I had not thought “4H” and “Pottery Barn” belonged in the same blog post, but apparently I am wrong.

4H Adirondack chair.

4H Adirondack chair built by someone only slightly too old to be my child. But I am a violinist. Being outdone by children young enough for me to babysit is nothing new to me.

I guess this was the outdoor DIY exhibit.

4H DIY Coffee table exhibit

Here is a DIY project I’m sure someone has posted on Pinterest.

The 4H grill planter exhibit

If you need something to do with that old grill, 4H has an idea for you.

The Stage With An Unknown Function:

4H stage with flags

4H stage with flags. I don’t know what this stage functions as, but all I know is that it’s missing the orchestra flag. Come on, 4H-ers! Who doesn’t want to spend most of their waking hours emotionally flogging oneself during scale practice?

There were other exhibits I didn’t post, such as fashion, canoe building, and photography, all of which were really amazing. I mean, everything I saw was amazing.

County fair food trailer

Taco Dick’s food trailer, posted for no reason other the obvious ones.

Finally, here I am with a goat.

Me and a goat

Azn impenetrable stare vs. a goat.

Anything to say? Leave a comment (but be nice or leave).

