Gender and Betty Crocker (Or, This is not a political post)

So we’re a couple of 30-somethings and are pretty modern in I guess most respects. My husband is very supportive of me and contributes to the daily grind of childcare and most household duties. I really have no complaints about that.

My mother-in-law told me a story about my father-in-law, who died in 1986. They were in the kitchen together, drying dishes. A knock came at the door and FIL immediately threw the dish towel to MIL and told her, “Don’t let anybody know I was helping you.”

She also told me stories of how she would look out the window as he was returning home from his job as a meat cutter to see him accompanied by a coworker or two. On entering the house, he announced that Mr. Coworker was having dinner with the family. This is not how my family operates.

So this week, I rooted through her cookbooks and stumbled onto this glorious finding, Betty Crocker’s 1961 edition of her cookbook. It provided me with an evening of entertainment and thanking God for not putting me here on this earth in the 1960s when gender roles were much more categorized. Because you all know how much I love my power saws. Did I mention my husband has a vast collection of essential oils?

Betty Crocker's New Picture Cookbook 1961

Betty Crocker’s New Picture Cookbook 1961 in Technicolor!

So here is a quick tour for your enjoyment.

Betty Crocker says Refresh Your Spirits before you cook.

Not those kinds of spirits!

Betty Crocker kitchen

Stepford Wives working in the test kitchen

Let the Family Help You!

Let the Family Help You! Specifically, not your husband. And be sure to wear comfortable clothes, like your pearls and a dress.

Random picture

A random picture of a cherub to help you learn the first 2 letters of the alphabet.

reduce recipes

Only if you are good at math. Don’t even bother otherwise. “Math is hard!” says Barbie.

For those home-ec emergencies

For those home-ec emergencies. Mine is, “Order pizza for you two and I’ll see you when I get back from Olive Garden.”

How to freeze food.

How to freeze food. If you’re not an Eskimo and don’t live near a frozen body of water, it’s a lot more complicated, so tough.

A $.02 Lemonade Stand

Back in the day when lemonade was spelled with an “i” and cost only $.02.

(PS – I’m sure the recipes were fabulous. I’m dying to try the stuffed beef heart!)

8 thoughts on “Gender and Betty Crocker (Or, This is not a political post)

  1. I’d love to have that cookbook! I rebel so much against the traditional homemaker role but do love “making a home”. I just don’t want that to be my sole value or role. I just want it all! 🙂

    • Oh yeah, it’s a GREAT cookbook, and my hope was that I would convey that it has a lot of value…just cloaked in a Mad Men outfit. And yep, I relate to wanting to make a home, but I do it my way. Thanks for visiting, Amanda!

Anything to say? Leave a comment (but be nice or leave).

