Little almond milk update

Once again, here is Blendtec’s almond milk recipe with my own modifications:

3/4 c. raw almonds

3 1/4 c water

1T sugar (I use organic evaporated cane juice)

dash salt

splash of vanilla

Throw in the almonds and blend at speed 10 for 30 seconds. Stir up the grounds with a spoon and pulse for 10 seconds as needed to get a pasty consistency, usually just once for me. Add in the rest of the ingredients and hit the “Whole Juice” button.

My Blendtec Total Blender broke about a month ago as I was making almond milk. Something clunked loudly as I was pulsing, then rattled when I picked up the base to see if it was ok. We had to send it in for repair and went without it for 3 weeks. First world problems, I know.

We also use it to make green smoothies every day with spinach, kale, and fruit, and felt crummy the whole time without them – tired, lethargic, and grouchy.

The point of all that is to say that we went with store brought almond milk, the unsweetened vanilla flavor. It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t come close at all to fresh almond milk when we got our beloved blender back. There’s just no comparison.

On other things, I was straining the grounds from the milk while my 3 year old little boy watched me. As I scraped the grounds into a container he said, “Bird poop.” On the menu for next week: bird poop brownies.

Next up: an aqua vanity and more drawers used to hold liquids! Stop using your drawers for liquid storage, people! I’ll even add “please.”

almond grounds blendtec almond milk

“Bird poop.”

4 thoughts on “Little almond milk update

  1. Yum. Must try this tomorrow! We have a MagicBullet with a nut blade that should work. We’ve been making various juices every night for almost 3 weeks now. Ed likes to always add powdered kelp, flax seed and garlic no matter if it’s mostly vegetable based or leaning more towards fruit.

Anything to say? Leave a comment (but be nice or leave).

